Bblogger · Beauty · blog · Cosmetics · Health · Skincare

My beauty favourites….

Hi, Hi, Hi!

I did a post a few months ago about my night time skin care routine, I can safely say that most (well, half) of those items are my skin care and beauty staples. I do try and change up my routine a little every once in a while and since I have added a couple of other products.

If you want to see most of the items I use every day and a little review on each take a look my post The End of the Day. As I say, I have changed a few products because as most will already know products stop working the same after some time as the skin gets used to products and they stop having the same effect. I have no doubt that I’ll go back to these products at some point but in the meantime I thought I’d review the new products I’ve used and what they’ve replaced.

Previously, I was using the Nivea Daily Essentials Sensitive Caring Micellar Water to initially remove my make up. Unfortunately this eventually seemed to get to the point where it was smearing my make up around. Particularly my They’re Real Mascara by Benefit Cosmetics (which is my ultimate favourite!).

I went on a hunt to find a new micellar water to replace my old, trusty favourite. I had tried a few and I know a lot of people who swear by Garnier’s Skin Naturals Micellar Cleansing Water (the one with the pink lid) but I wasn’t really a fan. I don’t know what it was about it I didn’t really like, but I continued my hunt.

Then I came across the Garnier Pure Active Micellar Cleansing Water (hint, it’s actually on sale in Superdrug at the moment!). This, for me, was just fantastic! I have the largest bottle and I’m probably about half way through. This product is very much a “little goes a long way” sort of product and leaves my skin feeling squeaky clean after and removes every las drop of make up! I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a good micellar water. Especially those who want a “lazy” make up removal routine.

In terms of my moisturiser and eye cream I can safely say that I don’t think I will ever stop loving the Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief Gel and the Benefit Cosmetics It’s Potent eye cream. Both are quite expensive but so worth the money. They’ll last you forever and leave your skin thanking you all day/night long!!

One of the things I have changed, and I am IN LOVE WITH, is my serum. I’m sure everyone has heard all about Dragons Blood serums. These are concentrated serums that add a shot of moisture to dehydrated skin. Honestly, they do exactly what they say.

There are two in particular which I had seen so much about; Rodial Dragon’s Blood Advanced XXL Sculpting Serum and Nip+Fab Dragon’s Blood Fix Serum. These two products come at VERY different price points.

The Rodial serum retails at £125.00 whereas the Nip+Fab serum retails at a nice retail price of £19.95. Although I’ve never actually paid that, both Boots and Superdrug often have offers on the Nip+Fab product range.

I can’t speak for the Rodial serum, unfortunately I haven’t had the chance to try this product – it’s a little out of my price range. I’d love to try it and the reviews I’ve read have been good BUT I don’t think I would ever go out of my way to purchase a product so expensive.

Next though, let me rave all about the Nip+Fab serum. Kylie Jenner has become an ambassador for the brand and even named this serum as one of her favourites – I’m sure that’s enough reason for some people to purchase this product.

Personally though, I read so many reviews as I really wanted to know what was so special about these serums and decided to try it for myself. In terms of the price point I would say that this produce is 100% worth it, for a few reasons:

  1. You get so much product – so often with serums you get these tiny bottles and it can be really expensive. A little does go a long way. One pump is enough to give your skin the best burst of moisture.
  2. The packaging – although it is very obviously not “high end” packaging, it also isn’t cheap… if that makes sense. The comes in plastic packaging with a good quality pump which gives you the perfect amount of product!
  3. The product itself – is so amazing.

The serum sort of smells like mens face wash. I have been guilty of stealing my dads face wash on occasion as it leaves my skin feeling A-MAZ-ING! This serum sort of reminds me of that, but not in a bad way. The consistency of this product is lovely. I rub one pump into my fingertips and then press into my skin on my face and neck.

The first time I used the product I decided to use it in the evening and not use any other products. I woke up in the morning and my skin was so lovely and plump! I’ve been using this product every day for months now and I think I’m only roughly half way through the bottle! Honestly, I cannot rave about this product enough. So much so I’m actually in the midst of researching some of their other products! So many people swear by the Glycolic Daily Fix Cleaning Pads, but I really want to try Bee Sting Fix range and the Nip+Fab “shots”.

Lastly, Oil!!! I can’t tell people how good oil is for your skin. I have normal to (very slightly) combination skin and sometimes get a little oily around my T-zone. Oil changed my life! My skin since I started using a facial oil is honestly completely different. I don’t use it in the morning as, although I like a dewy finish, I don’t like the feeling under make up. At night though I slather it on.

About 20 minutes/half an hour after I’ve put all my other products on and let them set in and get to the oil!!! The oils I’ve tried previously (are in my post linked above) and I did really like them. They were both relatively expensive but I feel with oils that they last so long that they price really becomes redundant. The cost per use is so inexpensive.

I wanted to find an oil that was at a more achievable price point for everyone so that when I was telling everyone to use a facial oil I could recommend one that was a fair and achievable price point.

I found L’Oreal’s Extraordinary Facial Oil. Firstly, can I say the bottle of this is huge!! As I say, I like to slather this stuff on at night and I have barely made a dent in it. I don’t understand it never seems to down. This smells lovely, the texture on the skin is amazing, it leaves the skin so plump and hydrated and as an added advantage it is amazing on your hands and nails!

So, at the moment I am really happy with my little routine. I’m sure in a few months time I’ll have found some new products I “love and swear by”. I think the next thing I’d really like to find is a new moisturiser – I think – I’ve been using the same Clinique one for years now!

Let me know what you think? Have I mentioned products you love? Do you have any recommendations for new products that I should try? Comment below and let me know!

Over and out…
J x

Leave a Reply

