Bblogger · Beauty · blog · Blogger · Cosmetics

Microblading: my brows…

My last post covered self care and what that means to me. I haven’t written a post since because I’ve been taking some me time. Some time to get my work organised and plan out the final part of my module for university. My final exam is due on the 2nd of June!!

I thought I would do a post about something I had done a few months ago – I got my eyebrows microbladed.

What is Microblading?

Microblading is a semi-permanent cosmetic procedure where they cut the top layer of skin with a tiny blade and push pigment into the skin – very different than having them tattooed on.

First the brows are maps with special tools to ensure that they’re symmetrical and the right size and shape for your face. The technician will amend these as many times as it takes to make sure you’re completely happy. Anaesthetic is then applied to numb the skin.

The technician will then start to make tiny, hair like cuts and push pigment into the skin. They’ll go over these until both you and the technician are happy with the size and shape.

Why did I decide to get my brow microbladed?

Over the last few years I’ve spent a lot of time growing my brows back in. My eyebrows weren’t awful but they also weren’t perfect. It’s important to remember that you don’t need to have no/little eyebrows to have them microbladed. It’s a procedure designed to give everyone eyebrows that make them happy and feel confident. Something that is completely for you and no one else.

My eyebrows grow in a little sparse at the front but nothing a little brow product can’t fix, but for me my biggest pet hate is the colour of my eyebrows. I would go to my local benefit brow bar and have my eyebrows tinted every 4 weeks and waxed every 8 weeks. My hair is incredibly dark/black and I like my brows to be very dark too.

Unfortunately for me, my brows are a good few shades lighter than my natural hair. I wanted my brows microbladed to be closer to the colour and allow me to cut back on my tinting!

Does it hurt? 

So, to the most important question everyone has… does it hurt?

I would be lying if I said no. I have a relatively high pain threshold. I have 7 tattoos of varying sizes and have probably spent somewhere between 15-20 hours being tattoos and I barely flinch. I am very likely to have many more.

Everyone handles pain different and different parts of the body hurt more than others. I must also admit, I am a bleeder. I bleed quite badly when I’m being tattooed and having my eyebrows done was no different.

This can be quite bad when having your brows microbladed, so that is something you need to consider. Bleeding tends to push the pigment out of the skin so it can heal a little patchy or lighter than you’d possibly like. 

Anyway, the pain – it’s a strange sort of pain. A combination of bleeding quite a bit and the pain left me feeling a little strange after, almost like I had a hangover. After a nap through I felt right as rain.

If I’m honest the sound is worse than the pain. The scratching sound as the blade goes through the skin is an incredibly strange noise. The skin around the arch of your brow is quite thing, this area can be quite painful. It is bearable though. The pain is definitely not enough to put my off having my brows touched up in the future.

img_1738.jpg
Please excuse the bags under my eyes…

Before any cutting a thick layer of anaesthetic is applied to numb the skin. This is applied a few more times throughout the procedure – it doesn’t completely numb the skin but it makes the process easier.

I’ve spoken to a lot of people who barely felt a thing, I think it is very much a personal experience.

What research is involved?

A few months before I had my own brows done I actually went with my friend to have hers done. Seeing it in person actually encouraged me to look into it more seriously.

It is really important to dedicate time to researching the procedure. These brows will last anywhere between 12 months and 2 years (depending on your skin type or skincare routine) before a full touch up with be required or they can just be left alone if you don’t wish to continue. That’s a really long time to have something on your face.

Therefore it’s obviously really important that you find a technician who you’re confident can provide you with the style of brows that you’re after. For me it was really important to see a lot of evidence and reviews. I chose to not go to the same person my friend had, although her brows are great and really suit her, I like to wear my brows very different.

Personally I like my brows quite thick and defined. That is precisely what I got. I came across Permanent Make Up Aberdeen.

If you live in or around Aberdeen, Scotland I would definitely recommend Rasa.

It’s also incredibly important that you truly understand how the procedure works, the effects different skin types can have on the results, how to care for your brows after the procedure and a number of other things. It’s definitely not something that you walk into blind or unprepared – it is your face after all.

How do you look after healing brows and what aftercare is involved?

The healing process is really easy. The first day you’ll need to clean the area with only sterilised water, cooled to a warm temperature and then pat dry.

For the next 5-7 days a healing balm will need to be applied over the area 2-3 times a day. I’d recommend putting a thick layer on at night. Your brows will start to scab over lightly,  do not pick the scabs!!

You also can’t wear make up on the area for around 7-10 days, to allow your brows to heal and you should allow 14 days before going tanning. You should also be careful not to submerge the brows in water for 2 weeks, when showering or washing your face lightly clean the brow area.

My overall thoughts? 

I spent a long time considering this procedure and I have to admit it do not regret it. I am so happy with the results and I rarely have to actually do my eyebrows now. I still fill them in at the weekend or for nights out but during the week I often leave them completely or pull a tiny bit of Benefit’s Gimme Brow through to keep the hair in place.

I am due to have them touched up, which I’ll do soon, but I have been so happy since having them done – I haven’t even had them tinted!

I would definitely recommend microblading to anyone. It’s made me feel better about my brows, my morning routine much easier, even my “going out” routine is a million times easier.

Before and after?

The moment we’ve all been waiting for… the before and after picture.

IMG_1740

My skin was quite swollen afterward, so the my brows look 100 x better now that they’re all healed. You can even see that my eyelids were swollen – this doesn’t happen to most people. My sensitive skin just didn’t really appreciate the procedure.

IMG_1758

The image above is all the size and shape of my brows with some brow powder pulled through just to fill them in a touch.

I honestly love my eyebrows now. Would you have your eyebrows microbladed?

Blog Signature

 

14 thoughts on “Microblading: my brows…

  1. That looks so amazing! I think i wouldn’t be able to bare the pain myself, so you are very brave. What uni do you go to? I go to RGU in Aberdeen 🙂

    Have a lovely day.

    My Blog: https://vintageguruinwonderland.wordpress.com/2017/04/12/no-more-frizz-get-the-messy-curls-look/(I FOLLOW BACK XO)

    P.s. There are 3 days left to enter my beauty giveaway:
    https://vintageguruinwonderland.wordpress.com/2017/03/12/spring-beauty-giveaway-worth-40/

    Like

    1. Hi! Thank you! The pain was hard for me, but some people don’t feel a thing! Wouldn’t stop me doing it again though! 😁
      I’m doing my degree through Open University, while working full time! 😁 have a lovely day too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly! Fuelling my laziness!
        Not particularly. I just have to make sure that when I get home from work I start doing course work straight away or I get lazy! So far so good. Actually going to uni didn’t appeal to me like it did other people so OU works well for me 😁 what are you studying?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Good! I really like going to all my lectures and tutorials, i study Law so doing it by myself online would be a bit challenging. This degree is already stressful with deadlines and hard level of English and Latin phrases! What are you studying?

        Like

Leave a Reply

