blog

My hair… part 2…

Hey,

So I posted about my (not) so little secret. My hair isn’t real. In that post I wrote about how I’ve always kept my hair in good condition. I also talked about how I was surprised at how easy my extensions were to maintain. I thought it might be really useful to do a quick blog post on what I use on my hair to keep it all in such good condition.

Now, I will admit I’ve only added most of these since getting my extensions. I’ve always been an advocate for good shampoo and conditioner, but that’s probably about as far as my hair care went – other than the occasional hair mask. Let’s get started:

Washing

I am going to say something that may gross a lot of people out, but I only wash my hair roughly every 4 days. I am that person who will plan certain things around when my hair is due to be washed – like for example I would never go swimming the day after washing my hair.

I have been incredibly laxxed about washing my hair for years now and I find that I can get 4-7 days without my hair getting greasy. As I suffer from bad eczema, particularly on my scalp and ears, it does my skin wonders. 4 days is the perfect number for me, any more and my skin isn’t too happy and any less it gets greasy and lifeless… added bonus, shampoo and conditioner lasts me months, which is an advantage when it’s expensive.

I’ve just recently finished using OGC Renewing Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo and Conditioner. This stuff is around £7 per bottle in Boots, but it’s normally on a 3 for 2 offer (more on that later).

Recently though I started using Gold Class Aftercare. Gold Class is specifically for caring for hair extensions. I use the shampoo, conditioner and protein spray. All of which can be purchased from inanch.com they’re products, brushes etc. are specifically for hair extensions.

I always wash my hair first and then add conditioner to the ends before leaving for a few minutes, usually while I wash my body, and then rinse.

More Products

I added a few new products, each do different things and although there might seem like a lot this literally takes minutes and works wonders on my natural and false hair.

As I mentioned above I’ve been using the Gold Class Protein Spray, this claims to be ideal for all hair types (I’ll definitely continue using this after my extensions are out) providing an immediate boost to the hairs condition and ease of care, inject moisture and shine and restore the pH balance. This spray contains vitamins B5 & E and a whole host of other natural and good for the hair ingredients.

So first I spray this all over damp hair and gently brush through with my tangle teaser. For anyone with fine hair a tangle teaser is a GOD SEND. Brushing your hair will have never been so effortless.

I also use this every morning on dry hair. I add a few sprits to freshen up my hair, brush through and go on my merry way.

Next, I add some OGX Argan Oil of Morocco Weightless Dry Healing Oil, particular to the ends. This is a spray products so easy to distribute. I avoid getting this near my roots. This stuff works wonders, it smells amazing and it leaves the ends of my hair feeling super moisturised and strong! I got this as a 3 for 2 offer with the shampoo and conditioner but for some reason I can’t find it on the boots site anymore. Definitely worth grabbing a bottle.


Next is something my hair dresser uses on me every time I’m there but I’d never actually used myself. I got the John Frieda Frizz-Ease Extra Strength 6 Effects Serum. 1 pump of this keeps my hair from getting frizzy, it keeps it nice and strong and it adds a really nice shine to the hair. I rub 1 pump in the palms of my hands and then just run through my hair from roughly the tops of my ears down. Again, avoiding my roots.

 

 

Last, but not least, heat protection spray! I got the John Frieda Frizz-Ease Heath Defeat Protecting Spray.

IMG_2320.JPG

As I say, it seems like there is a lot there and some people may tell me I’m doing it wrong or that I’m using too much but all I know is that my extensions and hair are in amazing condition. I never get any matting, the hair hasn’t dried out and I still don’t need to wash my hair more regularly that 4 days. I avoid getting products on my scalp and I’ve found a combination that works for my sensitive skin. I’d recommend each of these products to anyone!

 Anyway, enjoy!

Jamee x

Leave a Reply

