Bblogger · Beauty · blog · Blogger · Health

Teeth Whitening: Oil Pulling

Hi Guys,

I drink a lot of tea and coffee, as in a LOT. This means that unfortunately my teeth aren’t as white as I’d like. They really aren’t as bad as they could be and I credit that to one specific toothpaste.

I don’t know about anyone else but I am so picky with toothpaste. I’ve always used Colgate toothpaste, I can’t stand the taste or Oral B and I won’t put toothpaste in my mouth that has bicarbonate soda in it.

I used the Colgate Max White Optic Toothpaste – the only downside to this is you need to rinse the sink out really well afterward because the toothpaste will leave blue everywhere. It’s a gel type formula and tastes amazing. Once, I ran out of this toothpaste and used another one for the entirety of the tube and I genuinely noticed that my teeth weren’t quite as white. At the end of that tube I went straight back to my trust favourite.

I love my top teeth – they’re so straight that so many people ask me how long I had braces for… I didn’t. My teeth are also strong and I’ve had very few problems with them. My 4 front bottom teeth though are so ever so slightly squint. It frustrates and annoys me, even though most people won’t notice.

I’ll probably get them fixed/straightened at some point but I can life with them. The irritating part is that I need to have my teeth cleaned each time I go to the dentist (every 6th months).

I’d heard that oil pulling was really good for really giving your teeth a good clean. Oil pulling has become so popular because one of the benefits is that it helps to whiten your teeth. Companies charge extortionate amounts selling portion sizes of coconut oil and adding a minty flavour.

So basically, oil pulling is very simple. You take 1-2 teaspoon of oil and swirl it around your mouth for 15-20 minutes. It’s so hard not to gag initially because coconut oil is sort of hard and lumpy. When it starts to melt down though it becomes a liquid and it’s easy enough. Again, initially I would have welcomed the minty taste but you quickly don’t notice the taste of the oil.

Here’s the science bit – oil pulling is genuinely really good for you. Essentially oil pulling is a detoxifying process, promoting healthy teeth and gums. You can use olive or sesame oil but commonly most people use coconut. The oil basically sucks the bacteria from your  mouth, getting into all the nooks and crannies. Oil pulling has been used for centuries and has a number of benefits:

  • Cures tooth decay
  • Kills bad breath
  • Heals bleeding gums
  • Reduces inflammation
  • Whitens teeth
  • Prevents cavities
  • Heals cracked lips
  • Boosts Immune System
  • Improves acne
  • Strengthens gums and jaw

So, today I decided to try it. Not to whiten my teeth – that’s just a potential bonus – but because I get frustrated at the build up I get at my front 4 teeth.

Oil Pulling

Here was my before photo. I had the dentist in May, so my bottom teeth weren’t too bad but I had been able to feel a little bit of build up at the back of my two front bottom teeth, where they actually over lap a little.

Oil Pulling After

Here is my after photo – obviously, one go was never going to whiten my teeth but I did notice how much cleaner they were, even though I had literally JUST brushed them.

I can actually see that one of the little gaps I have where my teeth are slightly squint has cleared out completely. Normally that needs floss or a scale and polish by a dentist!

Honesty, I would do this again. I think it might be worth doing on maybe a weekly basis to give me teeth a really good deep clean!

Have you tried oil pulling?

Kisses,

Blog Signature

Leave a Reply

