blog · Book Club · Life

Jamee’s book club…

Hey!

This year I decided to make a New Years Resolution that I would definitely stick too; I set myself a goal to read at least one book each month for pleasure, not for university or work.

I’m a little bit behind schedule but so far I’ve really enjoyed the books that I’ve read this year, so even if I don’t make it to my “one book a month” target by the end of the year I won’t be annoyed. It shouldn’t be too difficult, but I’ve struggled to find books that I’ve been interested in reading OR when I have uni it can be difficult to find the time.

I recently used the library for the first time since I was a kid last month. I’ve been trying to be more conscious about using public services because if we don’t use them then we lose them. Libraries are such an important facility, particularly for kids or families in poorer areas or who have financial difficulties and it really frustrates me that these areas or families are the ones who lose out the most when public services are cut.

Anyway, I thought I’d do a short post about the books I’ve read so far this year and what I thought of them. Disclaimer… these are only the books that I actually finished. I went through a spell of starting books and not finishing them because I couldn’t find anything I was enjoying.

Tina Fey – Bossypants

I wanted someone nice and easy to start off the year with and this was hilarious. I really enjoyed it and found myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion. I’ve recommended this book to so many people and will continue to do so because it was one of my favourite autobiographies that I’ve read.

Party Girl – Rachel Hollis

This book was what I expected it to be; mindless reading. I wasn’t bad at all, but it is very much the ‘I want to watch a rom-com because it’s easy” in book form. This is the perfect holiday book.

Amy Schumer – The girl with the lower back tattoo

A friend of mine lent me this book and I couldn’t put it down. There have been a few of her jokes that I’ve thought were a little too far, but more often than not I find her hilarious. SLIGHT problem with this book; if you’ve watched her Leather Special on Netflix you’ll have heard a few of these stories.

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

I never read To Kill a Mockingbird at school so I decided that it was about time that I do. I have to admit it was an eyeopener for me. It put a lot of things into perspective for me because although I’m well aware of history it’s easy to forget just how recently some things still happened and frankly, I felt like it really says a lot about how America is today.

Mad Girl – Bryony Gordon

I wrote a more detailed post about this book a couple of months ago. You can read it here. I found it to be such a refreshing read about one woman’s struggles with her mental health. WELL worth a read.

Prisoners of Geography – Tim Marshall

This was one of the “nerdiest” books I’ve ever read, solely for pleasure, and I LOVED it. I really like Tim Marshall and his style of writing. He makes topics that most people would find quite boring and make time entertaining. This book was so interesting, particularly because it talks about a lot that has happened as recently as 50 years ago and how much the world has changed. It covers Russie, the USA, Europe, the Middle East and much more. If you’re looking for something that really challenges you and teaches you something then this book might be the right one for you.

Worth Dying For? The power and politics of flags – Tim Marshall

As soon as I finished Prisoners of Geography I went on to Tim Marshalls next book; again, probably not everyone’s cup of tea on an exciting topic but Tim Marshall makes this interesting and funny. I really enjoyed this.

I’ve really enjoyed reading, although I can see a pattern reemerging. Now that I’m back to studying I’ve pushed books to the side, which is what I was trying not to do. So we’ll see, I might not make my resolution by the time 2018 rolls around but I will try my best.

I’ve linked each of the titles to Amazon so you can find out more about each book, but I would highly recommend checking your local library to see if they have it too! I’m started Business for Punks by James Watt (the owner of Brewdog) next. I’m not specifically reading it for uni so I feel like it’s okay, plus I’ve heard it’s a really interesting perspective. What are you reading next?

Hugs and Kisses,

Jamee x

 

Leave a Reply

